Select Page

5.31.13 Issue

by Sharon Houchin, Co-Vice President of Public Realations, NCJW-Omaha Section

The Omaha Section of the National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) will install the 2013-2014 slate of officers on Sunday, June 9, 2-4 p.m. with an Afternoon Tea at One Pacific Place Clubhouse – 1365 S. 101st Street.

Holly Weill

Holly Weill has been elected as the President for the Section’s board 2013-2014. Before being elected President, she served on the NCJW-Omaha board in 2011-2012 as a Director where she Co-Chaired the first Omaha Chocolate Festival. Last year she served as Co-Vice President of Community Service where she helped to start a new program with Child Saving Institute. She has been very active in the Omaha Jewish community holding key roles in BBYO and USY. In 1991 she was the Federation’s Teen Leader of the Year. As a member of Beth El Synagogue she has taught at Beth El Synagogue Talmud Torah (BESTT), served on the Board of Trustees for two terms, and currently is serving on the school committee. She volunteers on the Child Saving Institute’s Guild Board. Holly taught elementary school for eight years and owns the Posh Princess store in Shops of Legacy, which she opened in April of 2011. She is married to David and they have two children Julia (8) and Levi (4).

Officers to be installed: Co-Vice Presidents of Community Service: Sonia Tipp and Kelly Kirk; Vice President of Fundraising: Lise Sasson; Co-Vice Presidents of Membership: Lori Kooper-Schwarz and Dana Kaufman; Co-Vice Presidents of Public Affairs: Lisa Lewis and Becky Brenner; Co-Vice Presidents of Public Relations: Sharon Houchin and Alice Klein; Treasurer: Eileen Remer; Corresponding Secretary: Lisa Lucoff; Financial Secretary: Patty Nogg; Recording Secretary: Cheryl Lerner; Parliamentarians: Dottie Rosenblum and Julie Martin; Directors: Jill Simon, Sarah Spooner, Melinda Graham, Debbie Friedman, Nikki Kirshenbaum, and Tina Meyers; Nominating Chair: Beth Friedman.

Lise Sasson and Nikki Kirshenbaum will be presented special awards June 9. Lise Sasson will receive the NCJW Award for Emerging Section Leaders, in recognition of her potential for assuming future leadership and as someone who understands and supports the NCJW purpose and programs as well as demonstrates commitment to the section.

Lise Sasson

She has been a life member of NCJW for 6 years and was involved with NCJW in both the Philadelphia and Northern San Diego sections before coming to Omaha. Originally from San Diego, Lise moved here with her husband, Aaron and their three children, Eliana (10), Abigail (8) and Joel (6).

Lise served on the 2012-2013 Board as Recording Secretary and has been elected to the 2013-2014 Board as Vice President of Fundraising.

Lise attended the Washington Institute and came back with many ideas for the Omaha Section. She stated, “Washington Institute was a life changer for me. It was a wakeup call. It made me think very critically about how important my beliefs are, and about being a minority in our very conservative state. I realize now, it’s not just my vote that’s vitally important; it’s my commitment to the cause. It was absolutely amazing to see, hear, and speak to women just like you and me who have literally written law with their passion and activism. They have saved lives. They have made lives better and safer. It was a truly inspiring, motivating and beautiful experience.”

Nikki Kirshenbaum

Nikki Kirshenbaum will be honored with this year’s Distinguished Service Award. This award, which is a special award of Omaha Section, recognizes an NCJW member who has demonstrated outstanding years of service and has shown loyalty, commitment and dedication to the Section with an overall awareness of NCJW while volunteering with a willingness to work at any level. Nikki personifies loyalty, commitment, and dedication to the Omaha Section. She is married to Adam and has two children, Joey (11) and Jordyn (9).

She has been a life member of NCJW since 2001 and was the recipient of the Emerging Leader award in 2007. She has fulfilled the honor of that award by serving as Co-Vice President of Membership for two years, Vice President of Fundraising and Co-President of the section in 2009-2010. She has been elected to serve on the 2013-2014 board as a Director.

In addition to serving on the board, Nikki has chaired or co-chaired several committees which include the Kidz Shoppe Consignment Sale, Marcus Theater fundraiser, the Donor Campaign and Project Runway. In addition, she was co-chair of the Nominating Committee on the 2012-2013 board. She has also been on the Mini Grant Committee since 2001, assisted with Dictionary Day and the Jackson School backpack project. No matter what the job is, Nikki has always been available giving both her time and talent.

If you plan to attend the Afternoon Tea on June 9,  please RSVP to Vicki Perlmeter at or call 402.392.2610, by Thursday, June 6.