Select Page

12.2.16 Issue

Annette van de Kamp

We hope you will join the Jewish Federation of Omaha, the Jewish Community Center and Friedel Jewish Academy during the Kids’ Campaign Hanukkah Extravaganza. Mark the date in your calendar: Monday, Dec. 19, from 5 to 7 p.m., the front entrance of the Jewish Community Center welcomes kids from the entire community to celebrate Hanukkah and Tzedakah.

PJ Library is participating, and will provide Hanukkah story tellers in the Kripke Library. There will be dreidel games, crafts, a jumpy castle and balloon animals as well as face painting.

Crystal Epstein, who is one of the Co-Chairs of the event, said: “Aryeh and I think it is really important to start talking about giving with our kids at a young age. It’s never too early to start. The JFO Kids Campaign makes it really easy to do that. And having a community event to bring it all together at the end makes it really fun and special.”

Part of that “something bigger” is, of course, the Kids’ Campaign itself. If your child does not yet have the official Kids’ Campaign 2017 Tzedakah box, you can pick one up at the JCC front desk as well as membership services, or at any of the three synagogues and the Chabad House.

There is no cost to attend, and RSVPs are not necessary. During the celebration, which comes with all the bells and whistles, you might get hungry. In that case, you can purchase latkes at Friedel’s annual latke sale, FJA Head of School Beth Cohen said.

“Kids’ meals are only $5 and include two latkes with applesauce and sour cream, two donut holes and a juice box,” she added. Adult meals will have three latkes; a bottle of water replaces the juice box. To-go orders are $15 for ten latkes, applesauce and sour cream included. Donuts are for sale as well. Pre-orders are appreciated, and can be placed by contacting by Dec. 14 at the latest.

The 2017 Kids’ Campaign Chairs are Stephanie, Matthew, Shalom, Judah and Eliana Beneda; Crystal, Aryeh, Nina and Josie Epstein; Lisa, Chuck, Makayla and Kori Lucoff; Jamie, Troy, Ainsley, Aiden and Audrey Meyerson; Melissa, Matt, Joshua, Evan and Lea Shapiro and Sonia, Alan, Adria and Asher Tipp.

For more information, please email Louri Sullivan at or contact any of the Kids’ Campaign Chairs.